In keeping with the Society’s mission of promoting excellence in the field of history of science, broadly construed, the 2016 Pickstone Prize will be offered for the best scholarly book in the history of science, technology, and medicine, first published in English in 2014 or 2015. The BSHS is delighted that the judging panel will be chaired by the Society’s Vice-President, Dr Patricia Fara (University of Cambridge).

The winning book will mark a major advance in the understanding and interpretation of the scientific past. There are no restrictions on the form or authorship of the book, although edited volumes are excluded. Specialist monographs and synthetic works, whether singly or multi-authored, are welcomed.

The value of the Pickstone Prize is £300. The winner will also have the opportunity to give a public lecture, organised by the BSHS, on the subject of their book.

The Prize was established in 2014 to to honour our esteemed colleague and friend, the late Professor John Pickstone (1944-2014), whose research and teaching so keenly exemplified the scholarly virtues that we wish to celebrate with this memorial. More information about the prize, including details of past winners, is available here

Nominations for the Prize are invited from both individuals and publishers and should be made to the Executive Secretary, [email protected], by no later 31 December 2015. Please include full publication details with nominations.  Nominators can nominate multiple books; self-nominations are also welcome.

Publishers should send a single copy of each of their nominated book(s) to arrive by 15 January 2016 to:

Dr Patricia Fara
Senior Tutor
Clare College
Cambridge CB2 1TL
United Kingdom

The winner will be announced in May 2016.