The BSHS encourages good quality history of science by organising and judging three prestigious biennial prizes, two of which are awarded by the Society:

  • The Singer Prize is awarded by the BSHS every two years to the author of an unpublished essay based on original research into any aspect of the history of science, technology, or medicine. The Prize is intended for younger scholars or entrants into the profession.
  • The Dingle Prize is awarded to the best book in the history of science (broadly construed) published in English and which is accessible to a wide audience of non-specialists. The winner of the 2017 competition was Andrea Wulf for her book The Invention of Nature: the Adventures of Alexander von Humboldt, the Lost Hero of Science (London: John Murray, 2015).
  • The BSHS Slade Prize was awarded biennially between 1999 and 2009 to the writer of an essay (published or unpublished) that made the best critical study of an episode in the history of science focused on conceptual innovation or scientific methodology. Details of the winners are available here.
  • The BSHS John Pickstone Prize is awarded every two years to the best scholarly book in the history of science (broadly construed) in English, alternating with the Dingle Prize for the best popular book. The winner of the 2016 competition was awarded to Anne Hardy for her book Salmonella Infections, Networks of Knowledge, and Public Health in Britain, 1880-1975 (Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2014).
  • The Ayrton Prize is awarded every two years to recognise outstanding web projects and digital engagement in the history of science, technology and medicine. The winner of the 2017 competition was the REACH project, created by the IEEE.
  • The Great Exhibitions Prize is awarded every two years to innovative public exhibitions that deal with the history of science or the history of medicine. The 2018 Prize has closed and the entries are currently under deliberation.