30% discount off Royal Society Notes and Records

BSHS members get an exclusive 30% off a personal subscription to Notes and Records.

20% discount off Ashgate publications

BSHS members get an exclusive 20% off all Ashgate publications.

Visit Ashgate

The BSHS John Pickstone Prize

//The BSHS John Pickstone Prize
The BSHS John Pickstone Prize 2018-09-19T13:59:29+00:00

The BSHS John Pickstone Prize is awarded every two years to the best scholarly book in the history of science (broadly construed) in English, alternating with the Dingle Prize for the best popular book.  The Pickstone Prize is very much in keeping with the Society’s mission to promote excellence in the academic field of history of science, technology and medicine.

The winning book should mark a major advance in the understanding and interpretation of the scientific past.  There are no restrictions on the form of the book; specialist monographs and synthetic works, whether singly or multi-authored, are welcome.  Edited volumes, however, are excluded.

The value of the Pickstone Prize is £300.  The winner will be asked to give a presentation, sponsored by the BSHS, on the subject of the winning book.

The prize has been established to honour our esteemed colleague and friend, the late Professor John Pickstone (1944-2014), whose research and teaching so keenly exemplified the scholarly virtues that we wish to celebrate with this memorial.

The 2018 winner of the Pickstone Prize is Michael Wintroub for his book The Voyage of Thought: Navigating Knowledge across the Sixteenth-Century World (Cambridge University Press, 2017).

Read more about the 2018 Prize here.

Previous Winners:

  • 2016: The 2016 Pickstone Prize was awarded to Anne Hardy for her book Salmonella Infections, Networks of Knowledge, and Public Health in Britain, 1880-1975 (Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2014).
  • 2014: The 2014 Pickstone Prize was awarded to Stathis Arapostathis and Graeme Gooday for their book Patently Contestable: Electrical Technologies and Inventor Identities on Trial in Britain (Cambridge, Mass.: The MIT Press, 2013).