The SHOT Levinson Prize

The Society for the History of Technology’s (SHOT) Samuel Eleazar and Rose Tartakow Levinson Prize is awarded each year for a single-authored, unpublished essay in the history of technology that explicitly examines, in some detail, a technology or technological device or process within the framework of social or intellectual history. It is intended for younger scholars and new entrants into the profession.

Manuscripts already published or accepted for publication are not eligible. In order to be considered, manuscripts must be in English and of a length suitable for publication as an article in Technology and Culture—approximately 7,500 words (not including notes) and 100 notes. The winning manuscript will be considered for publication in Technology and Culture.

To nominate an essay, please send it by e-mail, in MS Word or PDF format, to the SHOT office ([email protected]), clearly stating that this is a nomination for the Levinson prize. Please also send one paper copy to office: SHOT Office/Amy Sue Bix, 618 Ross Hall, History Department, Iowa State University, Ames, IA 50011, USA.

The judging will be blind, so authors should avoid self-identification in the text of the article. Please put your name at the top of your e-mail and on a cover sheet to the paper copy; this information will be detached before the manuscript is forwarded to the committee.

The closing date for nominations is April 15; all entries must be received by this deadline. The award consists of $450 and a certificate, to be presented at the Society’s annual meeting.

2007 Levinson Prize Committee

Carolyn Goldstein Lowell National Historical Park 67 Kirk Street Lowell MA 01852 [email protected]

Gerard Fitzgerald (chair) Chemical Heritage Foundation 315 Chestnut Street Philadelphia, PA 19106 [email protected]

Martina Blum Münchner Zentrum für Wissenschafts- und Technikgeschichte c/o Deutsches Museum 80306 München, Germany [email protected]

For more information, please contact the committee chair or Amy Bix, SHOT Secretary, 515.294.8469, [email protected].