The next conference of AAHPSSS (the Australasian Association for the

History, Philosophy, and Social Studies of Science, ) will take place in Brisbane at

Emmanuel College, St Lucia, on July 11-12, 2009. Information about

accommodation and registration is on the AAHPSSS website at .The Dyason Lecture

this year will be given by Professor James Lennox of the University of

Pittsburgh, on Saturday, July 11th, at 6 pm. Note that earliest check-in

to the rooms at Emmanuel College is 1 pm.

This conference takes place immediately before the international ISHPSSB

conference in Brisbane, at the same location. Interested parties may

refer to its website at

Membership in AAHPSSS (now 25 $ yearly, 10 $ for students) allows you to

register for the conference at a lower fee. Members register at a cost

of 50$ for both days or 25$ / day; non-members register at a cost of 80$

for both days or 40$ / day. Students and unwaged: 20 $ / day or 40 $ /

both days. Registration information will be available on the AAHPSSS

website shortly; or contact the Treasurer, Dean Rickles, at

[email protected]

Student assistance will be available via the Ian Langham Memorial



, funded by membership fees. Enrolled honours and postgraduate students

wishing to apply for an Ian Langham Bursary should submit an abstract as

above and indicate that they intend applying for a bursary on the form

when submitting their abstract. Bursary applicants will need to provide

a full written version of their paper (approx. 3000 words-3500 max.)

along with evidence of student status by 1 May 2009 to Charles Wolfe

([email protected]). Criteria for selection of eligible papers include

whether they engage scholarly dialogues in the HPS/STS literature,

whether they evidence knowledge and appropriate use of HPS/STS

methodologies, and that the author is a student enrolled in either an

honours or postgraduate program. You must also be able to provide, on

request, the written support of your supervisor. Bursaries will be

allocated subject to these conditions and the availability of funds

(monies are generally distributed according to distance between the home

institution and the conference venue).The best student paper will be

awarded the Ian Langham Prize at the conference although the AAHPSSS

Executive reserves the right not to award the Prize.

Please send electronic submissions either of individual papers, panels

(typically 3 speakers, maximum 4), or book sessions to the Secretary,

Charles Wolfe, at [email protected]. Mention AAHPSSS 2009 in the email

subject heading.

Submissions are due by 1 May 2009; registration must be completed by 1

June 2009; afterwards a late fee of 30$ will be added.