AHRC South, West & Wales Doctoral Training Partnership 2014 & PhD study in the Department of Theatre, Film and Television Studies, Aberystwyth University

Aberystwyth University has achieved a significant kite mark in postgraduate research and training this autumn. It has become a partner in the South, West and Wales Consortium (SWW), along with seven other universities – Bath, Bath Spa, Bristol, Cardiff, Exeter, Reading and Southampton.

The Consortium has been awarded £14.2 million funding from the Arts and Humanities Research Council (AHRC) over the next five years to deliver postgraduate supervision, training and skills development from 2014 with up to 50 doctoral studentships being awarded each year over this five-year period. This will be the only route for prospective PhD studentships for subjects in the humanities.

The SWW AHRC Doctoral Training Partnership will be awarding up to 50 doctoral studentships for the best postgraduate research projects across the full range of Arts & Humanities disciplines.

Prospective applicants to the Consortium will benefit from exclusive prominent partners who include the Arnolfini, BBC, Bristol City Council, CyMAL & Cadw, English Heritage, National Library of Wales, National Museum of Wales, National Trust, Royal Commission on the Ancient & Historical Monuments of Wales, Watershed, Welsh National Opera, Butetown History and Arts Centre, Getty Research Institute, Bath Heritage Services, REACT, Twofour and a number of overseas academic partners. These partners bring academic and professional expertise in a range of disciplines and Welsh Culture.

Information about the environment for doctoral study in the Department of Theatre, Film and Television Studies (TFTS) at Aberystwyth University:

The Department’s established reputation for conducting leading-edge, international quality research makes TFTS an ideal place to pursue doctoral study. We offer supervision and research training in both English and Welsh, with a focus on topics such as:

Aesthetics, politics and social engagement; site-specific performance; contemporary British and Irish theatre; documentary and verbatim theatre; performance, film, media and television historiography and archiving; national and transnational theatre and cinema; Welsh and minority-language theatre, film, television and online media; alternative, avant-garde and experimental theatre and film; Russian cinema and theatre; landscape in film and performance; practice as research in relation to film, television, media, performance and theatre.

Film, press and broadcasting censorship and regulatory policies; television drama, genres and aesthetics; media fan, reception and audience studies; documentary film and television; horror, fantasy and cult film and television; film stardom and performance; British cinema; music and sound in film; children and the media.

See our staff pages for further details: http://www.aber.ac.uk/en/tfts/staff/

How to Apply:

Prospective applicants who are eligible for funding will need to submit an Expression of Interest by 12:00 midday Monday 13 January 2014. Following that, they will be invited to an Open Day for the DTP in Bristol on 22nd January 2014. Up to £50 will be available for travel costs. The aim of the Open day is for you to learn more about the research opportunities and supervisory expertise offered in the Consortium.

Applications for both funding and PhD place may be submitted via the SWW DTP site from 22nd January 2014 until the final deadline of 21st February 2014. Applicants will be required to submit a 1,500 word research proposal and a 500 word personal statement. Please note, the University of Bristol has kindly agreed to help with the registration and application system for the DTP this year, and they are acting on behalf of all universities in the DTP. Despite the appearance of the logo of the University of Bristol in some communications, you are in fact applying for a place with Aberystwyth University via the DTP’s portal.

Interviews will be held between mid and late March with results being available shortly before 18th April 2014.

The awards will be made on the basis of academic merit, with no fixed quota assigned to any one institution or subject area within the DTP. Prospective applicants are encouraged to focus their proposal in any field of Arts and Humanities research; proposals for interdisciplinary research are encouraged.

For further information please contact the Postgraduate Admissions Office:

E-mail: [email protected]uk

Tel: 0044 (0) 1970 622270

Website:  http://www.aber.ac.uk/en/postgrad/funding-fees/uk-eu/ahrcswwdtp/