An International Conference at the University of Ghent on Philosophical Aspects of Symbolic Reasoning in Early Modern Science and Mathematics (PASR) Venue: Het Pand, in the historical center of Ghent, Belgium. Date: 27, 28 and 29 August 2009

This conference brings together scholars working on philosophy of science, history of philosophy and history of science and/or mathematics. The topic is the role of symbolic representations in the development of modern science and mathematics from the end of the sixteenth century throughout the seventeenth century.


* The emergence of symbolic algebra * Views on symbolism in seventeenth-century philosophy * Reasoning with symbolic representations of natural phenomena * The role of diagrams and illustrations in early modern science * Semiotic and model-based approaches to symbolic representations * /Mathesis Universalis/ and /Characteristica Universalis/ * Cross-cultural studies on the use of symbols in the mathematical practice * …

Invited speakers:

* Karine Chemla, CNRS, Paris, France * Jens Høyrup, Roskilde University, Denmark * Eberhard Knobloch, Technische Universität Berlin, Germany * Marco Panza, CNRS, Paris, France * Matthias Schemmel, Max Planck Institute, Berlin, Germany * Michel Serfati, Paris VII, France

Submission of abstracts: Abstracts should contain between 500 and 1000 words and should be submitted electronically to [email protected] <mailto:[email protected]>. Microsoft Word, TeX or PDF files are accepted. All abstracts which we received are acknowledged by mail within 10 days. /Deadline for abstracts is 15 April 2009. /They will be refereed in order of arrival, and authors will be informed as soon as possible but not later than 30 May 2009.

Conference proceedings: The organizers intend to publish the invited papers and a selection of contributed papers partly in a special volume of a journal and partly in a book of an academic publisher. A call for final papers will be issued during the conference. Conference chairs: Albrecht Heeffer, Maarten van Dyck

Program comittee: Albrecht Heeffer, Marco Panza, Chikara Sasaki, Maarten van Dyck.