30% discount off Royal Society Notes and Records

BSHS members get an exclusive 30% off a personal subscription to Notes and Records.

20% discount off Ashgate publications

BSHS members get an exclusive 20% off all Ashgate publications.

Visit Ashgate

CFP: BSHS Slade Prize 2009

///CFP: BSHS Slade Prize 2009

CFP: BSHS Slade Prize 2009

BSHS Slade Prize 2009

The British Society for the History of Science invites entries for the 2009 BSHS Slade Prize.

The BSHS Slade Prize of £300 will be awarded to the writer of an essay (published or unpublished) that makes the best critical contribution to the history or historiography of science/technology/medicine. Entries might, for example, critically engage a prevalent interpretation of a particular historical episode (e.g. a scientific innovation, a scientific controversy or a scientific instrument or technology), or a broader period or theme, and offer a new construal, or adopt a new historiographical or methodological approach. 

The Prize may be awarded to the writer of one outstanding essay, or may be divided between two or more entrants. Any winning essay(s) not yet placed with a publisher will be considered for publication in the British Journal for the History of Science at the discretion of the Editor.

Previous winners include:

2005: Hasok Chang, “Adventures of a Scientific Potter: The Rise and Fall of the Wedgwood Pyrometer.”

2003: Sandro Caparrini, “Early Theories of Vectors.”

2001: Yves Gingras, “The Social and Epistemological Consequences of the Mathematization of Physics.”

General Rules

Entry is open to people of any age and nationality, and is not limited to BSHS members. Entries should be in English, and should have been published or written in the two years prior to 15 December 2009.

Essays should not exceed 10,000 words in length (excluding footnotes) and must be accompanied by an abstract of 300 words. Entries without an abstract will not be considered.

Three paper copies of the essay and abstract must arrive by 15 December 2009.   Submissions by email will not be accepted.

Entries should be sent to the BSHS Secretary, Dr Viviane Quirke, School of Arts and Humanities, Oxford Brookes University, Oxford OX3 0BP.   Enquiries by email ([email protected]) are welcome.


By | 2010-12-16T15:58:52+00:00 December 16th, 2010|Prizes|Comments Off on CFP: BSHS Slade Prize 2009

About the Author: