The History of Science Society invites nominations for its various prizes. To submit a nomination, or for further information, please visit the HSS Web site at or contact Jay Malone ([email protected]) at the HSS Executive Office, PO Box 117360, University of Florida, Gainesville, FL 32611-7360. The nomination deadline is 1 April 2004.

The Sarton Medal The Sarton Medal, the HSS?s most prestigious honor, recognizes a life of scholarship at the highest level. It has been awarded annually since 1955 to an outstanding historian of science selected from the international scholarly community. To nominate an individual, send on one or two pages the scholar?s name and contact information, a list of major publications, posts held, and a paragraph of support.

Ida and Henry Schuman Prize This graduate-student prize, established in 1955, is for an original and unpublished article (articles that have been accepted for publication are ineligible) on the history of science and its cultural influences. The author must be a graduate student enrolled at any college, university, or institute of technology. Essays submitted for the competition should be thoroughly documented, written in English, must not exceed 8,000 words in length (exclusive of footnotes), and should conform to the latest edition of the Chicago Manual of Style. Send a copy of the essay, with a detachable cover sheet (essays are read without knowledge of the authors? identity), to the Executive Office. Electronic submissions sent as a Word or rtf attachment and under 2 megabytes are acceptable.

Margaret W. Rossiter History of Women in Science Prize The History of Women in Science Prize, renamed in honor of the HSS?s recently retired editor, recognizes an article (in even-numbered years) on the history of women in science. The article may take a biographical, institutional, theoretical, or other approach to the topic, which may include discussions of women?s activities in science, analyses of past scientific practices that deal explicitly with gender, and investigations regarding women as viewed by scientists. These may relate to medicine, technology, and the social sciences as well as the natural sciences. Articles published from 2000 to 2003 are eligible for the 2004 prize. Please send the full citation or a copy of a hard-to-find essay to the HSS Executive Office.

Pfizer Award The Pfizer Award, established in 1958 through the generosity of the Pfizer Company, honors an outstanding book dealing with the history of science. The book must be published in English during a period of three calendar years immediately preceding the year of competition (books eligible for 2004 were published in 2001, 2002, or 2003). Edited volumes, as well as works with more than 2 authors, are not eligible. A multi-volume work by one or two authors may be nominated only after the publication of all the volumes.

Watson Davis and Helen Miles Davis Prize The Davis Prize, established through the generosity of Miles and Audrey Davis, recognizes books in the history of science directed to a wide public (including undergraduate instruction). Books published in 2001, 2002, or 2003 are eligible for the 2004 prize. They should be introductory in assuming no previous knowledge of the subject and can introduce an entire field, a chronological period, a national tradition, or the work of a noteworthy individual. Multi-authored or edited books are eligible, whereas unrevised reprints of previously published works are not.

Joseph H. Hazen Education Prize The Joseph H. Hazen Education Prize, established through the support of the Joseph H. Hazen Foundation, is awarded in recognition of exemplary contributions to the teaching of the history of science. Educational activities are construed in the broadest sense and include, but are not limited to, the following: classroom teaching (K-12, undergraduate, graduate, or extended education), mentoring of young scholars, museum work, journalism, organization and administration of educational programs, influential writing, educational research, innovation in the methodology of instruction, preparation of pedagogical materials, or public outreach through non-print media. Nominations should include a c.v. of the nominee, a statement of not more than 1000 words describing her or his educational contributions, and two seconding letters. All nominations remain active for three years.