The Society for the History of Technology proudly announces the competition for its Melvin Kranzberg Dissertation Fellowship, which is presented annually to a doctoral student engaged in the preparation of a dissertation on the history of technology, broadly defined. This award is in memory of the co-founder of the Society, and honors Melvin Kranzberg’s many contributions to developing the history of technology as a field of scholarly endeavor and SHOT as a professional organization. The $2000 award is unrestricted and may be used in any way that the winner chooses to advance the research and writing of his or her dissertation. Possible uses include underwriting the costs of travel to archival collections; photocopying or microfilming; translation of documents; and so on. The award may not be used for university tuition or fees. Students from institutions of higher learning anywhere in the world who are working on projects in the history of technology are eligible to apply; doctoral candidates from outside the United States are especially encouraged to submit application materials. Applicants must have completed all requirements for their doctorate except for the dissertation by September 1, 2006. (Students from outside the United States, whose programs of study may follow a different pattern, are encouraged to contact the committee chair to review their standing and discuss their possible eligibility for the Kranzberg Fellowship.)

A complete application should be sent to EACH member of the Kranzberg selection committee (addresses can be found below). The application materials should include the following:

1) A curriculum vitae (all applications must be in English); 2) A 3-5 page (750-1250 word) summary or abstract of the proposed dissertation. In this summary, applicants should describe how their research contributes to the history of technology. 3) A 1-2 page (250-500 word) description of how the applicant intends to use the funds; 4) A letter of recommendation from the student’s dissertation director. This letter should also attest that the student is currently enrolled and in good standing at a recognized university graduate program, and will complete all requirements for the doctorate except the dissertation (ABD) by Sept. 1, 2006.

All application materials, including the letter of recommendation, should be in English and should be in the hands of each member of the committee by April 15, 2006. The committee is charged with selecting the most promising proposal from among those submitted. The committee’s decision will be announced at the Society’s annual meeting, which will be held in Las Vegas, October 12-15, 2006.

For more information, please consult SHOT’s website ( You may also contact Sara Pritchard, Kranzberg committee chair (see below), or Amy Bix, SHOT Secretary, 603 Ross Hall, History Department, Iowa State University, Ames, IA 50011, <mailto:[email protected]>[email protected]; Phone: 515-294-8469.

Again, please send applications to ALL five members of the committee listed below, by April 15, 2006.

2006 Kranzberg Prize Committee:

Sara B. Pritchard, CHAIR Department of History and Philosophy Montana State University 2-155 Wilson Hall P.O. Box 172320 Bozeman, MT 59717-2320 [email protected]

Atsushi Akera Dept. of Science and Technology Studies, Sage 5206 Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute 110 8th Street Troy, NY 12180 USA [email protected]

Nina Wormbs STINT Fellow European University Institute Department of History and Civilization Villa Schifanoia Via Boccaccio 121 I-501 33 Firenze, Italy [email protected]

Alexander Magoun 39 Humbert St Princeton, New Jersey 08542-3312 [email protected]

Ann Greene Dept. of the History and Sociology of Science 303 Logan Hall, University of Pennsylvania Philadelphia, PA 19104-6304 [email protected]