Applications for this prize are now open. Closing date for submissions Friday 26 February 2010.

The National Museum of Australia and the Australian Academy of Science through its National Committee for History and Philosophy of Science invite submissions for this prize. The Prize will consist of a certificate and $2500.

The prize will be awarded for an essay based on original unpublished research undertaken whilst enrolled as a student (postgraduate or undergraduate) at any tertiary educational institution in the world.

The essay should be 4,000 – 8,000 words in length (exclusive of endnotes). Essays must be written in English and fully documented

following the style specified for the Australian Academy of Sciences journal, Historical Records of Australian Science (see for details).

Essays may deal with any aspect of the History of Australian Science (including medicine and technology) or Australian Environmental

History. Australia can include essays that focus on the Australian region, broadly defined, including Oceania. Essays that compare issues and subjects associated with Australia with those of other places are also welcomed. The winning entry, if it is in a suitable subject area, may be considered for publication in Historical Records of Australian Science.The judging panel will have three members:

* Chair (or nominee), National Committee for History and Philosophy of Science (Chair of panel).

* Editor (or nominee), Historical Records of Australian Science.

* Director of Research (or nominee), National Museum of Australia.

In the e-mail covering your essay you should indicate:

Full name

Contact details (postal and e-mail addresses and telephone number)

Title of submission

University course (and year of course if undergraduate)

Student number

Your submission must be accompanied by a letter or e-mail from your academic supervisor attesting that the essay meets the eligibility

criterion set out above.

Please send your submission electronically in WORD or PDF format to Connie Berridge, National Committee for the History and Philosophy of Science, Australian Academy of Science, [email protected]

Judges decisions are final. The judges retain the right to split the prize, or not to award it. The winner will be contacted by mail and/or

e-mail, and will be announced on the websites of the National Museum of Australia and the Australian Academy of Science in June 2010.

Closing date for submissions Friday 26 February 2010.