Ayrton Prize

//Ayrton Prize
Ayrton Prize2017-11-10T09:52:54+00:00

Hertha AyrtonIn 2015 The British Society for the History of Science launched a new prize recognising outstanding web projects and digital engagement in the history of science, technology and medicine (HSTM). The prize name was chosen by members of the BSHS from a shortlist to recognize the major contributions of Hertha Ayrton (1854-1923) to numerous scientific fields, especially electrical engineering and mathematics, in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. The inaugural prize, in 2015, was won by the British Library for Voices of Science. In 2017 the second round of the prize was won by the project REACH, Raising Awareness through the Conduit of History, produced by the IEEE.

All kinds of web-based digital projects are eligible for the prize if they meet the following conditions. Entries should:

  • Be a self-contained website (including blogs and other web-based projects), available in English, whose overall content is in HSTM, or a distinct HSTM subsection of a website, such as an online exhibition section of a museum website.
  • Communicate HSTM to a non-specialist audience and/or make new resources available for the study of HSTM.
  • Be open access.
  • Have been created or updated with substantial new content within the last two calendar years (from the entry deadline).
  • Reflect current best practice in the discipline.
  • Make effective use of the medium.

The prize is awarded on a biannual basis, and we look forward to advertising the next round in late 2018.

ayrton_sml (not ai)

Previous Winners of the Ayrton Prize

30% discount off Royal Society Notes and Records

BSHS members get an exclusive 30% off a personal subscription to Notes and Records.

20% discount off Ashgate publications

BSHS members get an exclusive 20% off all Ashgate publications.

Visit Ashgate