SHOT International Scholar Program

Each year the Society for the History of Technology (SHOT) selects up to four International Scholars for a two-year term. International Scholars receive a regular SHOT membership at no cost during their appointment and a subscription to the journal Technology and Culture. International Scholars also receive the highest priority when applying for travel funding to attend the SHOT annual meeting.

Applicants must reside and work in underrepresented countries — meaning outside of the U.S. and Western Europe — at the time of their selection. The program accepts applications from graduate students up through senior scholars.

International Scholars shall act as ambassadors for the Society in their countries and regions, both by informing the Society about the state and developments of the history of technology in their regions, and by helping to disseminate information about the Society and its activities.

At each annual meeting, SHOT will host a special gathering to welcome current international scholars, introduce them to SHOT officers, and discuss the intellectual dimensions of the field that pertain to international research.

To apply to the SHOT International Scholar Program, please send a copy of your CV and a letter to EACH member of the committee listed below and to SHOT secretary Amy Bix at [email protected]. Letters must include: * why you would like to be an International Scholar, * how you plan to advance the mission of the International Scholar Program (see, * the current state of history of technology research in your home country and your home insitution, and * how your research will enrich existing knowledge in the field.

The deadline for nominations is April 15.

2008 Committee on International Scholars

Eden Medina (chair) School of Informatics Indiana University 901 E. 10th Street, Room 305 Bloomington, IN 47408 USA [email protected]

Henrik Bjorck Göteborgs Universitet History of Ideas and Theory of Science Box 200 S-405 30 Göteborg, Sweden [email protected]

Thomas Kaiserfeld Department of History of Science and Technology Royal Institute of Technology, S-100 44 Stockholm, Sweden [email protected]

Valentina Fava European University Institute Max Weber programme Villa La Fonte via delle Fontanelle, 10 50016, San Domenico di Fiesole (FI) Italy [email protected]

Joel Wolfe Dept. of History University of Massachusetts Amherst Herter Hall, 161 Presidents Drive Amherst, Massachusetts 01003-9312 USA [email protected]

Harro Maat Wageningen University Hollandseweg 1 Wageningen 6706 KN Netherlands [email protected]