The History of Science Society wishes to congratulate its 2009 Prize Winners.

Sarton Medal: (for lifetime achievement)

John E. Murdoch Professor, Harvard University

Pfizer Award: (for the best scholarly book)

Harold J. Cook, Director of the Wellcome Trust Centre for the History of Medicine and professor at University College London

“Matters of Exchange: Commerce, Medicine, and Science in the Dutch Golden Age” (Yale University Press, 2007)

Watson Davis and Helen Miles Davis Prize: (for the best book for a general audience)

Charles Seife, Associate Professor, The Arthur L. Carter Journalism Institute at New York University

“Sun in a Bottle: The Strange History of Fusion and the Science of Wishful Thinking” (Viking Adult, 2008)

Derek Price/Rod Webster Prize: (for the best article in Isis)

Angela N. H. Creager, Professor, Princeton University and Gregory J. Morgan, Associate Professor, Stevens Institute of Technology

“After the Double Helix: Rosalind Franklin’s Research on Tobacco mosaic virus” (Isis, 2008, 99:239-272)

Joseph H Hazen Education Prize: (for excellence in teaching the history of science)

Frederick Gregory, Professor, University of Florida

Margaret W. Rossiter History of Women in Science Prize: (for the best book on the history of women in science)

Monica H. Green, Professor, Arizona State University

“Making Women’s Medicine Masculine. The Rise of Male Authority in Pre-Modern Gynaecology” (Oxford University Press, 2008)

Nathan Reingold Prize: (for the best unpublished article by a graduate student)

Rachel N. Mason Dentinger, University of Minnesota

“Molecularizing Plant Compounds, Evolutionizing Insect-Plant Relationships: Gottfried S. Fraenkel and the physiological study of insect feeding in the 1950s.”