30% discount off Royal Society Notes and Records

BSHS members get an exclusive 30% off a personal subscription to Notes and Records.

20% discount off Ashgate publications

BSHS members get an exclusive 20% off all Ashgate publications.

Visit Ashgate

William T. Stearn student essay prize

///William T. Stearn student essay prize

William T. Stearn student essay prize

The prize is awarded annually to the best original, unpublished essay in the history of natural history. The prize has been instituted by the Society for the History of Natural History in honour of the late William T. Stearn, a scholar whose work contributed much to the field and to the Society. Entries will be considered by a panel of three judges appointed by the Council of the Society. For 2007 the judges are Dr Anne Secord (chair), Dr Emma Spary and Professor Lynn Nyhart.

The competition is open to undergraduate and postgraduate students in full- or part-time education.

The winner will receive £300 and the winning essay will normally be published in the Society’s journal, Archives of Natural History.

The deadline for applications for the 2007 Prize is 29 June 2007.

The Prize Rules and Entry Form are available for download from the Society’s website, http://www.shnh.org/ABT_awards_WSP.htm

By | 2010-12-12T19:33:29+00:00 December 12th, 2010|Prizes|Comments Off on William T. Stearn student essay prize

About the Author: